FlashMind
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Welcome! Here's what we're about.

Go down

Welcome!  Here's what we're about. Empty Welcome! Here's what we're about.

Post by Z Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:09 am

Welcome! Here's what we're about.

Welcome to Flashmind! I'm Z and I'm the admin here. I wanted to point out a few odds and ends about FlashMind to visitors and new members.

This is all new to me. I've been working on this project for only a few months, and were it not for the constant belief and support of the members here, doubt I would have come so far so fast. We are still feeling our way to what exactly we are at FlashMind, but that's okay, because that's how real people live real lives.

FlashMind came up when I started learning about having ADHD, and realized that there was no place for adults with this sort of mind to gather and truly express themselves.

(I choose not to see it as a "problem" beyond the fact that people with ADHD think differently and that no one's given us much, if any, help in learning how to use this amazing mind of ours.) What's more, I saw a lot of the communities out there as having an unintentional "enabling" role, continuing to perpetuate the idea that people with ADHD have something "wrong" with them that needs "fixing."

If something is broken, how is it going to get fixed by just repeating over and over "Woe is me, I need fixing?" The answer is, "Never."